2016 Scholarship Winners Announcement

The Donald L. Smith Research Grant

1. Aubry A DeReuil, University of Utah, Advisor: Dr. Lauren P Birgenheier, Geomechanical and Sedimentological Analysis of the Mancos Shale in the Colorado Plateau

2.Dipanwita Nandy, Colorado School of Mines, Advisor: Dr. Steve Sonnenberg, Facies Characterization and Depositional Setting of the Upper Bakken Shale, Williston Basin - An Integrated study of Sedimentology, Inorganic Geochemistry and Geochronology

Edwin D. McKee Grant

1.Zachery Wistort, University of Utah, Advisor: Dr. Allan Ekdale, Paleoenvironmental significance of silica-dominated ramps in the geologic record

2. Kuwanna Dyer-Pietras, Binghamton Univeristy, Advisor: Dr. Robert Demicco, Cyclostratigraphy of the Green River Formation, Piceance Creek Basin, Colorado

The Fluvial Sedimentology Award

1. Zachary Foster-Baril, University: University of Idaho, Advisor: Dr. Elizabeth Cassel, Reconstructing Eocene topography and volcanism in the North American Cordilleran Hinterland, northern Washington and southern British Columbia

2. James Mauch, Utah State University, Advisor: Dr. Joel Pederson, Quantifying active salt tectonism and evaluating interactions with fluvial incision and deposition using deformed stream terraces in Spanish Valley, UT.