October 2018: Jeffrey May

Jeff May | Colorado School of Mines EOG (retired)

The Sedimentology of Mudrocks: Organics, Organisms, and Occasional Occurrences

Biography: Jeffrey A. May

Jeff received his B.A. in Geology from Earlham College, M.S. in Geology from Duke University, and Ph.D. in Geology from Rice University. He has worked in the oil and gas industry for over 35 years: as a research geologist with Marathon Oil Company (1981- 1994); as a geological and geophysical consultant with Enron Oil & Gas (1994-1996) and GeoQuest Reservoir Technologies (1996-1998); as an exploration geoscientist with DDD Energy (1998-2001); and with EOG Resources beginning in 2001, first as Chief Stratigrapher and then as Chief Geologist, until his retirement in 2011. In addition, he recently became an Affiliate Faculty member in the Department of Geology and Geological Engineering at Colorado School of Mines.

Jeff has conducted sedimentologic, sequence stratigraphic, and seismic stratigraphic projects on basins and fields worldwide. Areas of expertise include onshore and offshore Gulf of Mexico; onshore and offshore California; Uinta, Green River, Washakie, Denver, Powder River, and Williston Basins; northern and eastern Egypt; and Natuna Sea, Indonesia. At EOG, he provided regional to prospect-scale stratigraphic interpretation and evaluation plus training in support of all divisions. Jeff also conducts a variety of classroom and field seminars on clastic facies, deep-water sandstones, sequence stratigraphy, and mudrock deposition and stratigraphy, most notably for the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, the Petroleum Technology Transfer Council, Nautilus Worldwide, many oil and gas companies, and universities. His publications encompass numerous papers and abstracts on deep-water sandstones, sequence stratigraphy, geophysical interpretation, and mudrock deposition. Jeff has twice been presented the best luncheon speaker award by RMAG, completed an AAPG Distinguished Lecture tour, and received the Outstanding Scientist Award from RMAG (shared with Donna Anderson) in 2017.